Scaffolding Right of Way Permits

chasnr

Total posts
I am a permit expediter that mainly pulls building permits for all types of scopes of work. Periodically, I have pulled Right of Way permits for Side Walk Cuts and Closures. I've recently been approached for a scaffolding permit in Baltimore City. I know this falls under the Right of Way Permit designation. While I pride myself in figuring out any type of permit processing, I figured I would post something here for any input/advice. I believe the contractor mentioned that there would not need to be any pedestrian traffic plans. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

I am not an expert in this matter but based on my understanding you can do some of these things:
  1. Check if pedestrian traffic plans are actually needed.
  2. When you apply for permits, include site plans showing scaffolding placement, safety measures, and duration.
  3. Check compliance with local safety and obstruction regulations.
Checking with the Baltimore DOT for specific requirements and guidance is the best solution if you are not sure.

It sounds like you're well-versed in the permitting process for a variety of construction activities. I don't have a background with this, however I can tell you this much; with your background, you should be able to navigate the process effectively. Here are some steps and tips to help you with the scaffolding permit:
  1. Confirm Right of Way Permit Requirements: As you mentioned, scaffolding permits typically fall under the Right of Way Permit category. Double-check the specific requirements for Baltimore City to ensure you have all necessary documentation.
  2. Check for Specific Scaffolding Guidelines: Different cities have unique regulations regarding scaffolding. Look into Baltimore City's guidelines for scaffolding to ensure compliance with height restrictions, safety measures, and duration of the permit.