Permit for security system?

Davenport

Total posts
Hello, I'm hoping you guys can help me out. I'm a developer in Jefferson County, Alabama. I have the permits that I need to build a single-family home for a buddy of mine. What I need to know is whether I need to get a low voltage permit before installing his security system. I normally design and develop commercial properties in the area, so this is out of my wheelhouse. I would need the permit in a commercial setting, but I'm not sure whether it's required for residential. I called the county commissioner's office to check, and the office workers weren't sure, so I'm hoping you guys might know more about it. I'd like to avoid applying for the permit if possible, since I'm working with a tight budget.

Attachments

• shutterstock_1095001202.jpg
    shutterstock_1095001202.jpg
    96.4 KB · Views: 77
I'm by no means knowledgeable in regards to this, so I would still check with your local permitting office just in case. I did a little bit of research, and I believe you do need to obtain a permit for any low voltage work you plan to do. The info I found, mentions it being required for the likes of telephones, fire and security systems, closed-circuit and cable television. It would be my best guess that it would require a permit though.

This is what I was able to find:
When Permit is Required
Residential Constructions
Single Family Construction Process

Thanks for sharing those resources, @Winny. I agree, a permit is almost certainly required here.