hello!

Mahlon

Total posts
Hi, I'm an ICC Certified Permit Technician based in Colorado. I've been implementing electronic plan and permitting review improvements since Covid, and am now working on digitizing our entire Community Development Department. If anyone has any experience with e-plan review and its processes please let me know!

Welcome Mahlon! My office started going electronic in 2015 as the costs of storing decades of paper files really started adding up. During COVID we began only accepting electronic submittals, which pretty much made our transition to a fully electronic office complete.

I'd be curious what central software system you're currently using for file storage and e-plan reviews? We switched over to ProjectWise in 2016 as part of our effort to go fully electronic. I think we switched to ProjectWise primarily with our planners and engineers in mind, but the cloud-based collaboration benefits definitely extend to our permitting reviews/approvals as well. What's particularly useful about ProjectWise is how it assigns an internal link to every document stored in the cloud database. As government employees we need to save every single email that anyone ever sends/receives, which means that sending multiple versions of large attachments back and forth via email can really eat up storage space. When requesting internal reviews/approvals or disseminating reference documents across groups of employees, we now share the files via ProjectWise links instead of emailing the file itself. You can imagine how this saves tons of cloud storage space because there's only one instance of the file instead of several versions distributed across multiple email accounts. It's also cleaner in terms of having only one copy of a document that gets updated in the cloud, rather than having multiple outdated versions floating around people's inboxes like we'd have before.